World T20 schedule announced, India to play Pakistan on March 19 in Dharamsala

World T20 schedule announced, India to play Pakistan on March 19 in Dharamsala

By: || Updated: 11 Dec 2015 11:01 AM
New Delhi: ICC announced the the World T20 schedule on Friday.

The thrilling series’ opening match would be held on March 11.

India's first encounter would be with New Zealand on March 15 in Nagpur.

The high-voltage India and Pakistan match would played in Dharamsala on March 19.

India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Australia are placed in Group 2 in the Super 10s stage while South Africa, England, West Indies and Sri Lanka are in Group 1.

The semi-finals will be played in Delhi and Mumbai on March 30 and 31 respectively.

The men's and women's competition will be held simultaneously, with both the finals taking place on April 3.

“We assure you that the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup will be bigger and better,” BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur said.

The tournament will be staged across eight venues in India from March 8 to April 3. A total of 58 tournament matches, including 35 men's matches and 23 women's matches, will be played during the 27-day tournament.

Two qualifying teams will join the Super 10s (two groups of five teams) after the first stage of the tournament, which will be held in Dharamsala and Nagpur between March 8 and 13.

The eight teams competing in the qualifying stage have also been split into two groups. Bangladesh, The Netherlands, Ireland and Oman have been slotted into Group A, while Group B comprises Zimbabwe, Scotland, Afghanistan and Hong Kong.

The top team from Group A will join India, Pakistan, Australia and New Zealand in Group 2 of the Super 10s stage, while the qualifier from Group B will be clubbed in Group 1.

The top two sides from each group of the Super 10s will progress to the semi-finals.

India will take on New Zealand on March 15 in Nagpur in the opening match of the Super 10s stage. They will then face Pakistan on March 19, the qualifying team in the group on March 23 in Bengaluru and Australia in Mohali on March 27.

The men's event will carry a total prize money of $5.6 million -- an 86 percent increase from the 2014 tournament -- while the total prize money for the women's event is $400,000 -- a 122 per cent increase.


Catch entire schedule below:




For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Pressure to perform too high at times: Mary Kom