West crush North to win Deodhar Trophy

West crush North to win Deodhar Trophy

By: || Updated: 01 Jan 1970 12:00 AM

Dharamsala: West Zone won the Deodhar Trophy in style thrashing
North Zone by 113 runs in the final here on Monday. Mumbai batsman Ajinkya
Rahane played the star turn for West, striking a 122-ball 118, studded
with 15 boundaries and a six, to guide his side to a staggering 355 for
four in 50 overs.

Another India player, Munaf Patel, shone with
the ball, taking four wickets as North were bowled out for 242 in 42.2

Patel returned figures of four for 34 in eight overs
sealing the issue for West within the first Powerplay.

captain Wriddhiman Saha may have erred by putting West in to bat in the
semifinal, it was Harbhajan Singh’s turn to make that same mistake as
West openers Parthiv Patel and Ajinkya Rahane went on a rampage adding 131

With Parvinder Awana not in the North line-up, pacers
Manpreet Gony, Pradeep Sangwan and Rishi Dhawan leaked runs.

356 was always going to be difficult and Munaf knocked the stuffing out of
North dismissing Nitin Saini (2), Shikhar Dhawan (0), Paras Dogra (11) and
Yashpal Singh (0) as they were left reeling at 25 for four.

only saving grace for North was a 97 run partnership for the seventh
wicket between Bipul Sharma and Harbhajan (30) which helped them cross
200-run mark.

 Brief scores: West Zone 355/4 (A Rahane 118, P
Patel 78) North Zone 242 in 42.2 overs (B Sharma 68; M Patel 4/34)

For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Lynn will not require surgery on his injured shoulder