Vijay Hazare Trophy: Umesh Yadav destroys Andhra Pradesh as Vidarbha win by 10 wickets

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Umesh Yadav destroys Andhra Pradesh as Vidarbha win by 10 wickets

By: || Updated: 17 Dec 2015 01:00 PM
New Delhi: Pace spearhead Umesh Yadav led a supreme bowling charge as Vidarbha shot out Andhra Pradesh for 87 runs to win their Group C league match by 10 wickets in the Vijay Hazare One-Day cricket tournament, here on Thursday.

Electing to field at the Palam B Ground, Model Sports Complex, Vidarbha bowlers justified the think-tank's decision to pack the Andhra side in 25.3 overs.

Sharing the new ball with Umesh, left-arm pacer Shrikant Wagh trapped opener Koripalli Sreekanth for nought to start the batting rot.

Umesh soon joined in the party with three scalps as left-arm spinner Akshay Karnewar, who wiped off the tail in double quick time, managed to be the destroyer-in-chief.

Skipper Prasanth Kumar top-scored a valiant 38, but the rest of the batting fell like a pack of cards.

Chasing the paltry score, openers Jitesh Sharma (47 not out) and Faiz Fazal (44 not out) made short work of the target in 19.2 overs.

Vidarbha are in a strong position to move into the quarter-finals with four wins from five matches, while Andhra are on a slippery ground with just two wins from their five outings.

Brief Scores

Andhra Pradesh: 87 all in 25.3 overs (Prasanth Kumar 38, Kuppu Ganesh Kumar 17; Akshay Karnewar 4/13, Umesh Yadav 3/16)

Vidarbha: 91 for no loss in 19.2 overs (Jitesh Sharma 47 not out, Faiz Fazal 44 not out; Siva Kumar 0-13)

Result: Vidarbha won by 10 wickets.

Points: Vidarbha 4, Andhra Pradesh 0.

For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Indian eves need to raise their level to beat England: Harmanpreet Kaur