Vijay Hazare Trophy: Delhi win in just 16 overs

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Delhi win in just 16 overs

By: || Updated: 14 Dec 2015 03:42 PM
New Delhi: Delhi on Monday bulldozed Tripura by 8 wickets in a thoroughly one-sided group C encounter of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

This is Delhi's third win in four matches and the hosts are favourites to seal one of the two quarter-final spots up for grabs from this group.

Currently, the Gautam Gambhir-led Delhi are second behind Maharashtra in the group C table, with 12 points from 4 games. Maharahstra also have 12 points but have played a match less.

The bowlers led by left-arm pacer Pawan Suyal (3/14 in 10 overs) and Navdeep Saini (2/28 in 9 overs) skittled out Tripura for 100 in 39.3 overs with former UP batsman Parvinder Singh top-scoring with 20. Left-arm spinners Manan Sharma (2/24) and Pawan Negi (2/2) also did their bit.

In reply, Delhi romped home in 16 overs losing only two wickets. Young Nitish Rana slammed 48-ball-67 with 10 boundaries and three huge sixes. Openers Unmukt Chand (14) and Dhruv Shorey (1) were dismissed cheaply but the meagre target never posed any threats for the Delhi batsmen.


Tripura: 100 in 39.3 overs (Parvinder Singh 20, Pawan Suyal 3/14, Pawan Negi 2/2, Navdeep Saini 2/28, Manan Sharma 2/24).

Delhi: 101/2 in 16 overs (Nitish Rana 67 not out; Rana Datta 2/21).

Result: Delhi beat Tripura by 8 wickets.

Points: Delhi 4; Tripura 0.

For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Indian Wells: Daria Kasatkina stuns Venus Williams in semis