VIDEO: ICC launches 2016 World T20 logo

VIDEO: ICC launches 2016 World T20 logo

By: || Updated: 08 Dec 2015 05:51 PM
New Delhi: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday launched the logo of the sixth 2016 World Twenty20 to be held in India from March 11 to April 3.

The ICC, during its first meeting on January 28, 2015 at their headquarters in Dubai, awarded India the rights to host the prestigious tournament. India will be hosting the tournament for the first time without any collaboration.

The tournament will feature 16 teams, including associate nations. There will be 10 full member teams who will qualify automatically. They will later be joined by the six Associate Members who qualified through the 2015 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier, which was played in Ireland and Scotland.

The qualifying teams are, Scotland, Ireland, the Netherlands, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Oman.

The top eight teams will get direct qualification to the Super eights. The bottom two teams will join the Associate Members to qualify for the qualification round. The 14 teams will be divided into two groups.

However, the participation of Pakistan is under cloud following Indian government’s delay in clearing a cricket series in Sri Lanka. Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Shahryar Khan had stated in October that if the Pakistan-India series in winter did not work out, they will not participate in the Twenty20 World Cup 2016. The ICC also announced that Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur, Kolkata and New Delhi are the cities to host the tournament. Much cricised Kolkata stadium, Eden Gardens will be the venue for the final match of the tournament.  


For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story In eight balls, Karthik has made us look like geniuses: KKR CEO