Shikhar Dhawan likely to never use his bowling arm again

Shikhar Dhawan likely to never use his bowling arm again

By: || Updated: 10 Dec 2015 05:52 PM
New Delhi: Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan will not bowl in competitive matches (domestic or internationals) as he in all likelihood will not go for any action correction at the ICC accredited institute in Chennai within the next 14 days.

The ICC on Wednesday issued a media release, saying that Dhawan's part-time off-breaks were found illegal by the on-field umpires and his action was reported. Although, he is still allowed to bowl in competitive matches, the rule requires him to undergo a test at Chennai based institute within two weeks.

However, according to sources in the BCCI, Dhawan will not go for any action correction as he is not even a proper part-time spinner.

"Dhawan's forte is not his bowling and the Indian team will not miss anything if he does not bowl his off-breaks. Why does he need to go to Chennai for action correction? There is a possibility that he might not ever bowl in a competitive match in near or distant future," a senior BCCI official in the know of things informed.

In fact, Dhawan played for Delhi in the opening match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy and he did not bowl a single over. Dhawan will next for play for Delhi against Maharashtra on December 17 as he will be leaving for Mumbai to attend an ICC promotional event as well as India teammate Rohit Sharma's

It is also unlikely that skipper Virat Kohli will be playing any of the Hazare Trophy group league matches.

For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Shakib and Nurul fined by ICC for separate incidents