Pak, Kiwis dedicate T20 trophy to memory of late Hughes

Pak, Kiwis dedicate T20 trophy to memory of late Hughes

By: || Updated: 04 Dec 2014 07:04 AM
Johannesburg: Pakistan and New Zealand have dedicated the trophy for their Twenty20 matches in Dubai to the memory of late Australian batsman Phillip Hughes, who passed away last week.



Hughes passed away last Thursday, two days after he was hit by a bouncer in a first class match in Sydney. He succumbed to an injury he endured from a bouncer that hit him during a Sheffield Shield match at the SCG.


Hughes' funeral was held on Wednesday, as Pakistan and New Zealand prepared for the shortest format of the game drawing a preceding Test series 1-1, Sport24 reported.


Pakistan's Twenty20 captain Shahid Afridi said that Hughes' tragic death has left the cricketing world in a shock. He said that Hughes died very young and his tragic death has left everyone shocked, adding that they are thankful to the sponsors who have decided to dedicate the trophy in memory of the late Australian batsman as a mark of respect.


Pakistan has been boosted by the return of paceman Umar Gul, who has not played international cricket since April due to a knee problem. Gul is the second highest wicket-taker in Twenty20 with 80 in 56 games, five behind Ajmal's 85.


Pakistan would hope their pace attack, which also includes the lanky and towering Mohammad Irfan supplement the bowling attack which has spinners in Raza Hasan and Shahid Afridi.


Pakistan had a miserable World Twenty20 in Bangladesh where they failed to reach the last four for the first time in five editions of the tournament, which prompted captain Mohammad Hafeez to step down, giving the responsibility to all-rounder Afridi for a second stint.


Afridi said that Pakistan would not underestimate New Zealand who are without their dashing skipper Brendon McCullum who, along with pacemen Tim Southee and Trent Boult, have returned to New Zealand to prepare for the upcoming home series against Sri Lanka.


McCullum smashed a brilliant 202 to help New Zealand win the third and final Test in Sharjah on Sunday in the series-levelling win.


Kane Williamson, who has led New Zealand in three one-day matches and two Twenty20s will lead New Zealand while Ross Taylor, fast bowler Adam Milne and batting all-rounder Anton Devcich return to the squad.


Pakistan T20 squad: Shahid Afridi (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Awais Zia, Anwar Ali, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Irfan, Raza Hasan, Saad Nasim, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz.


New Zealand T20 squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Corey Anderson, Dean Brownlie, Anton Devcich, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori.

For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Pattinson signs two-year contract with Brisbane Heat