MCL Auctions: Sehwag to play for Arabians, Ganguly picked by Legends

MCL Auctions: Sehwag to play for Arabians, Ganguly picked by Legends

By: || Updated: 08 Dec 2015 12:56 PM
Dubai: South African legend Jacques Kallis was bought at a handsome price of $175,000 while former Australian wicketkeeper-batsman Adam Gilchrist fetched an impressive amount of $170,000 at the Masters Champions League (MCL) auction.

The league is for the top international cricketers of yesteryears.

Brian Lara was sold to Leo Lions for $100,000 while former England captain Paul Collingwood went for $140,000 to Capricorn Commanders. Brett Lee was taken by Virgo Super Kings for $100,000 while Muttiah Muralitharan went to Gemini Arabians for $120,000. The tournament will be played in January, 2016.

There were a total of 12 marquee players, who were allocated to the teams before the auction. Abdul Razzaq and Michael Vaughan (Capricorn Commanders); Scott Styris and Heath Streak (Leo Lions); Sourav Ganguly and Graeme Swann (Libra Legends); Virender Sehwag and Kumar Sangakkara (Gemini Arabians); Mahela Jayawardene and Daniel Vettori (Sagittarius Soldiers); Graeme Smith and Azhar Mahmood (Virgo Super Kings).

The owner of the team Sagittarius Soldiers is Ashfaq Sheikh of Orange Limited. Capricorn Commanders is co-owned by actor Sohail Khan and Pervez Khan. Libra Legends is owned by Popcorn Sports and Entertainment Private Limited while Gemini Arabians owned by Khaitan Holdings.

Virgo Super Kings, owned by Rhiti Sports while Leo Lions, owned by Manyata Dutt and Family.

The marquee list features two each from Pakistan, India, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka, one each from South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Briefly commenting, Zarah Shah, MCL CEO, said, "Our main aim is to take cricket to a higher level across the UAE and we believe that the response we have received in participation for the event is a great step forward in the right direction. The franchise owners and players are excited to see the turnout over the auction."

The Six Teams

Gemini Arabians: Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kyle Mills, Saqlain Mushtaq, Jacques Rudolph, Naved-ul-Hasan, Justin Kemp, Paul Harris, Brad Hodge, Richard Levi, Ashish Bagai, Graham Onions, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Saqib Ali.

Libra Legends: Sourav Ganguly, Graeme Swann, Jacques Kallis, Brad Hogg, Ryan ten Doeschate, Ajay Ratra, Chris Read, Sean Ervine, Shaun Tait, Ryan Sidebottom, Michael Lumb, Marcus North, Taufeeq Umar, Nicky Boje, Ian Butler.

Sagittarius Soldiers: Mahela Jayawardene, Daniel Vettori, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Bond, Khurram Khan, Phil Mustard, Tino Best, Nathan Hauritz, Alviro Petersen, Michael Carberry, Krishmar Santokie, Jonathan Trott, Yasir Hameed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Gavin Hamilton.

Virgo Super Kings: Graeme Smith, Azhar Mahmood, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Neil McKenzie, John Mooney, Dirk Nannes, Owais Shah, James Foster, Murali Kartik, Malinga Bandara, Gareth Batty, Hasan Raza, Jacob Oram, Humayun Farhat, Mohammad Yousuf.

Capricorn Commanders: Michael Vaughan, Abdul Razzaq, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Symonds, Chamara Silva, Ashwell Prince, Upul Chandana, Ryan McLaren, Jeetan Patel, Rikki Clarke, Rory Kleinveldt, Ben Laughlin, Rizwan Cheema, Geraint Jones, Sunil Joshi, Saleem Elahi.

Leo Lions: Heath Streak, Scott Styris, Brian Lara, Herschelle Gibbs, Brendan Taylor, James Franklin, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Fidel Edwards, Mohammad Tauqir, Neil Carter, Hamish Marshall, Kyle Jarvis, Ramesh Powar, Simon Jones, Darren Gough.

For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story ISSF Junior WC: Manu Bhaker bags gold in 10m Air Pistol