Bhuvneshwar nominated for ICC People's Choice Award

Bhuvneshwar nominated for ICC People's Choice Award

By: || Updated: 08 Oct 2014 10:40 AM
Dubai: India's medium pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been nominated for this year’s People’s Choice Award which sees five players from five different countries selected for the only award voted for by the public at the annual International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards.

The other four nominated are England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews and South Africa pacer Dale Steyn.

Fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner by voting for their favourite player either via or via Twitter using the hashtag #lgiccawards.

Voting is now open and will close Oct 30. The winner as well as the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the short-list for the remaining awards will be announced Nov 5 at the ICC Headquarters here.

The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts which is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble. Other members of the panel are Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a broadcaster, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

“The support of the fans is vital for the game and particularly valued by the players. Hence, the significance of the People’s Choice award. The overwhelming number of cricket fans who participate to select the winner of this award has made it one of the most prestigious awards in the ICC calendar," ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said Wednesday.

For SPORTS News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story My client never made match-fixing allegations on Shami: Hasin Jahan's lawyer