The catch, however, left Pakistani supporter shocked. The entire incident has now become a controversial topic on social media.
Alam tried to play the ball a sweep shot but even before his action, Smith started running towards the leg side of the Pakistani batsman. It looked like he was already aware about the shot!
The ball bounced, touched edge of the bat and landed up in the hands of Smith who was already moving from first slip to the leg side.
The left-handed batsman was staggered for a while but the umpire ruled him out.
Retired Australia cricketer Dean Jones called it legal citing a new law of ICC-
OK, Just been advised by new LawICC 41:8 that if a batsman shapes early to play a shot..Then a fields man can move anywhere he wants.. #out
— Dean Jones (@ProfDeano) October 12, 2014
It was third ODI of the ongoing series between Australian and Pakistan.
Here is the controversial catch-