Who has ruled Haryana - since 1966

Who has ruled Haryana - since 1966

By: || Updated: 19 Oct 2014 05:16 AM


Chandigarh: Haryana was carved out as a separate state from unified Punjab Nov 1, 1966.

Assembly strength - 90 seats.

The BJP, which contested the 2014 assembly polls alone for the first time, had played second fiddle to other parties earlier. In the 2009 assembly polls, the BJP won only four seats in the 90-member assembly.

1966-67 - Congress (Bhagwat Dayal Sharma as chief minister)

1967 - Vishal Haryana Party (Rao Birender Singh)

1968-1975 - Congress (Bansi Lal)

1975-77 - Congress (Banarsi Das Gupta)

1977-79 - Janta Party (Devi Lal)

1979-1985 - Congress (Bhajan Lal)

1985-87 - Congress (Bansi Lal)

1987-1991 - Janta Dal (Devi Lal, Om Prakash Chautala, B.D. Gupta and Hukum Singh)

1991-96 - Congress (Bhajan Lal)

1996-99 - Haryana Vikas Party (+BJP) (Bansi Lal)

1999-2005 - Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) (Om Prakash Chautala)

2005-2014 - Congress (Bhupinder Singh Hooda)


For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story BJP afraid of Lalu: Tejashwi