Vice Presidential candidates Naidu & Gandhi to submit nominations today

Vice Presidential candidates Naidu & Gandhi to submit nominations today

By: || Updated: 18 Jul 2017 08:15 AM
New Delhi: Vice Presidential candidates M Venkaiah Naidu, representing the ruling National Democratic Alliance and Gopalkrishna Gandhi, the grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and the Opposition's candidate will be filing their nominations for the post on Tuesday.

The Opposition named Gopalkrishna Gandhi, a former governor, as their vice presidential candidate, last week, while Venkaiah Naidu was named as NDA's candidate on Monday.

The last date for making nominations for the August 5 vice presidential elections is ending on Tuesday, July 18, according to the schedule announced by the Election Commission.

Counting for vice presidential elections would take place on August 5.

The term of Vice President Hamid Ansari, who is also ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, ends on August 10.

Meanwhile, on Monday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said M Venkaiah Naidu was a fitting candidate for the office of Vice President. He made the statement soon after the senior BJP leader was chosen as the ruling NDA's candidate.

Modi described 68-year-old Naidu as a farmer's son who "brings years of experience in public life and is admired across the political spectrum".

He said he always admired the hardwork and tenacity of Naidu, currently a minister in his Cabinet holding the portfolios of Information and Broadcasting and Urban Development.

"I know @MVenkaiahNaidu Garu for years. Have always admired his hardwork & tenacity. A fitting candidate for the office of Vice President," the prime minister tweeted, soon after the announcement of the decision of BJP's Parliamentary Board, the highest decision-making body of the party.

"The years of Parliamentary experience @MVenkaiahNaidu Garu has will help him discharge the important role of Rajya Sabha Chairperson," Modi added.

(With inputs from agencies)

Next Story CPI(M) begins efforts to bring impeachment motion against CJI Dipak Misra