Uttar Pradesh Assembly Election 2017 Dates: Voting in 7 phases from Feb 11 to March 8; counting on March 11

By: | Updated: 04 Jan 2017 01:31 PM
New Delhi: Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa, Punjab and Manipur will be held between February 4 and March 8, Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi announced on Wednesday.

The results from all five states will be known on March 11, Zaidi told a press conference here.

While polling in Goa and Punjab will take place on February 4, Uttarakhand will vote on February 15 and Manipur in two phases on March 4 and 8.

Uttar Pradesh details: 

Uttar Pradesh, the country's most populous state, will go to the polls in seven phases: February 11, 15, 19, 23 and 27 and March 4 and 8.

This will be the single biggest electoral exercise since the 2014 Lok Sabha polls and will involve a total of 690 constituencies, 403 of them in Uttar Pradesh alone.

 Election dates:

  • Uttar Pradesh elections to take place in 7 phases

  • Phase 1 has 73 constituencies, and the date of poll for phase 1 will be February 11

  • Phase 2 has 67 constituencies and the date of poll in the same is February 15

  • Phase 3 has 29 constituencies and the polling would take place on February 19

  • In phase 4, there will be 63 constituencies and the date of polls will be Feb 23

  • In phase 5, the date of notification would be February 2, 2017  and the election would take place on February 27

  • In Phase 6, the date of notification would be Feb 5 and the date of polls will be March 4

  • In Phase 7, which has 40 constituencies; the date of polls will be March 8

ALSO READ:  UP set for hung Assembly; BJP single largest party if SP splits: Lokniti-ABP News survey

Goa has 40 seats, Punjab 117, Manipur 60 and Uttarakhand has 70 seats.

"We are committed to conduct the elections in a free and fair manner," Zaidi said. The Election Commission would also check the "misuse of black money and liquor".

The main players in the five states include the Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress, Aam Aadmi Party, Shiromani Akali Dal, Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and Manipur People's Party.
Next Story Congress announces Kamal Nath as president of party's Madhya Pradesh unit