UP Civic Polls 2017 Live Updates: Polling Begins In 25 Districts

UP Civic Polls 2017 Live Updates: Polling Begins In 25 Districts

Over 52 per cent voting was recorded in the first phase of UP civic polls on November 22 which covered 24 districts.

By: || Updated: 26 Nov 2017 10:02 AM

Image: ANI

Noida (UP): Voting for the second phase of Uttar Pradesh civic elections is being held today between 7:30 am and 5:30 pm amid tight security. Campaigning for the second phase had ended in 25 districts on Friday. Polling is taking place in 25 districts.

State election commissioner S K Agarwal reviewed poll preparations through video conferencing with district magistrates, district election officers, senior police officers and polling observers.

Here are live updates of UP civic polls, phase two:

  • (09:10) Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya & wife Rajkumari Devi cast their votes in Allahabad

  • (08:10) UP Minister Mohsin Raza casts his vote in Lucknow

  • (07:30) Voting begins

  • (07:10) Voting to begin from 7:30 am

Over 52 per cent voting was recorded in the first phase on November 22 which covered 24 districts.

After the BJP formed the government in the state with absolute majority in March, this will be the first battle of ballot that will test the popularity of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Unlike other parties, the BJP is taking the civic polls seriously and besides the chief minister himself and his two deputies, senior party leaders are extensively campaigning in the state.

While the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) have left the campaigning to second-rank leaders, the Congress has engaged senior leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Raj Babbar and MP Pramod Tewari to address election meetings in selected cities of the state.

Districts which will go for polls in the second phase of UP civil elections 2017:

Besides Varanasi, the districts going to polls in the second phase are Muzaffarnagar, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budhnagar, Amroha, Rampur, Pilibhit, Shahjahanpur, Aligarh, Mathura, Mainpuri , Farrukhabad, Etawah, Lalitpur, Banda, Allahabad, Lucknow, Sultanpur, Ambedkarnagar, Bahraich, Shrawasti, Sant
Kabirnagar, Deoria, Ballia and Bhadohi.

UP civil elections 2017: Polling for 3rd phase on November 29

Polling for the third and final phase covering 26 districts will take place on November 29. Counting of votes for all the three phases will be on December 1 and results will be declared the same day.
Next Story PNB fraud: CBI questions bank MD, ED continues seizures of Nirav assets