UP Civic Elections Results 2017 LIVE: BJP wins 14 mayoral seats, BSP victorious gets 2

UP Civic Elections Results 2017 LIVE: BJP wins 14 mayoral seats, BSP victorious gets 2

Results of UP Civic Polls 2017, UP Nagar Nigam Elections 2017, UP Nagar Nikay Chunav 2017, UP Mayor Elections, UP Municipal Corporation Elections, UP Urban Local Bodies Polls, UP Zila Panchayat Elections, UP Zila Panchayat Chunav

By: || Updated: 01 Dec 2017 04:20 PM

Visuals from counting centre in Lucknow.

UP Civic Polls results 2017 LIVE UPDATES: Riding upon its stunning performance in the Assembly elections held in March, Uttar Pradesh's ruling BJP forged its way to another resounding victory in the local body polls with 14 out of 16 municipal corporations are going to the saffron party.

No Party was able to pose a serious challenge to the BJP. Signalling a return of Mayawati, the BSP was able to get the hold of two municipal corporations -Meerut and Aligarh.

The local body elections were seen as a test for the chief minister Yogi Adityanath government.

Uttar Pradesh municipal polls 2017 result: Live updates

  • Out of 16 mayor seats, BJP wins 14 and BSP gets 2; Congress and SP face a rout

  • 13:24 pm: BJP ahead in 13 & BSP in 3 seats for the post of mayor

  • 13:05 pm: BJP Mayor candidates leading in Varanasi and Firozabad

  • 11:51 am: Amethi Nagarpalika trends: SP leading in Gauriganj, BJP leading in Jais

  • 11:40 am: BJP candidate Meera Agarwal wins the lucky draw

  • 11:40 am: BJP wins ward no.56 in Mathura by lottery

  • 11:23 am: BJP ahead in 14 seats for mayor posts

  • 11:15 am: BJP and Congress both get 874 votes in Ward no.56 in Mathura. Winner to now be decided by a lucky draw

  • 11:07 am: BJP ahead in 13 seats

  • 10:52 am: BJP ahead in Saharanpur

  • 10:45 am: Cong, other parties were giving internal support to each other, We fought alone & we are now leading with a good number in early trends: Mahendra Nath Pandey, BJP UP chief

  • 10:20 am: Hariram Khajanchi, an independent ward candidate from Ayodhya wins by 1 vote

  • 10:12 am: BSP Mayor candidate ahead by 12,000 votes in Meerut

  • 10:03 am: BJP Mayor candidate Mridula Jaiswal ahead of her rival by 1800 votes in Varanasi

  • 9:45 am: BJP Mayor candidate Hrishikesh Upadhyay leading in Ayodhya

  • 9:33 am: Twist in Mathura, now Congress mayor candidate ahead

  • 9:26 am: BJP Mayor candidate leading by over 1000 votes in Moradabad, BSP second, SP third and Congress fourth. BJP also leading in Pilibhit

  • 9:20 am: Out of 16 mayor seats, BJP ahead in 12 & BSP in four

  • 9:15 am: BSP Mayor candidates ahead in 3 municipal corporations

  • 9:10 am: I don't consider anyone my competitor. I will be number one, no matter who is second or third: Sanyukta Bhatia, BJP Lucknow Mayor candidate

  • 9:05 am: BJP ahead in 14 out of 16 mayor seats

  • 8:59 am: BJP Mayor candidate Naveen Jain ahead in Agra

  • BJP's mayor candidate from Allahabad Abhilasha Gupta ahead in early trends

  • 8:42 am: BJP ahead in 10 out of 16 mayor seats in Uttar Pradesh

  • 8:38 am: BJP ahead in 9 out of 16 mayor seats in Uttar Pradesh

  • 8:35 am: BJP ahead in 6 out of 16 municipal corporations of Uttar Pradesh

  • 8:31 am: From Ghaziabad, BJP Mayor Candidate Asha Sharma leading in early trends

  • 8:28 am: From Gorakhpur, BJP's Sitaram Jaiswal ahead

  • 8:19 am: Counting delayed by 15 minutes in Kanpur

  • 8:00 am: Counting of votes begin

  • 6:47 am: Results will be announced from 8 am onward

The election campaign generated a lot of political heat with the ruling BJP leaving nothing to chance. Chief Minister of UP Yogi Adityanath criss-crossed the state to woo voters in the name of development, while opposition SP, BSP and Congress campaigns were comparatively low key.

The UP urban local body election, involved over 3.3 crore voters in the 75 districts of the state.

The stakes are as high for other parties, including the SP, BSP and Congress which are hoping to make a comeback after their poor performance in the Assembly polls earlier this year.

After 17 years, the BSP has contested the local body polls on the party symbol.

Facts related with UP local body elections 2017

  1. 652 local bodies

  2. 16 mayors

  3. 198 Nagar Palika heads

Next Story Rahul says PM Modi should get back Nirav while returning from abroad