Polling underway of fourth phase in Jharkhand and J&K

Polling underway of fourth phase in Jharkhand and J&K

By: || Updated: 14 Dec 2014 08:40 AM
New Delhi: Braving the early morning chill, over 13 per cent of the electorate exercised their franchise in the first two hours of polling in 15 Assembly constituencies spread across four districts of Jharkhand.




In J&K voting began on a sluggish note this morning in the fourth and the penultimate round of state elections in 18 seats for which 182 candidates, including two chief ministerial aspirants and Speaker of the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly, are in the fray.


Over 14.73 lakh voters including 7.05 lakh females are eligible to exercise their franchise at 1,890 polling stations in four districts of the state Srinagar, Anantnag, Shopian (Kashmir Valley) and Samba (Jammu region).



The voter turnout has generally remained low in the 8 seats of Srinagar, currently being represented by the National Conference (NC), and some parts of Anantnag and Shopian.


Chief Minister Omar Abdullah is contesting from Sonwar Assembly segment of Srinagar after he chose not to contest from his family stronghold of Ganderbal constituency.



Omar was also in fray from Beerwah seat, in central Kashmir's Budgam district, which went to polls in the third phase.



Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) patron and party chief ministerial candidate Mufti Mohammad Sayeed is seeking re-election from Anantnag constituency in south Kashmir.



Depending on the eventual party positions in terms of seats won, either Omar or Sayeed is likely to be the front runner for the chief minister's post.



Other prominent candidates who are in fray include J&K Assembly Speaker Mubarak Gul, Omar's close confidante Nasir Aslam Wani, Congress ministers Peerzada Mohammad Sayeed and Ghulam Ahmad Mir, and PDP's Abdul Rehman Veeri and Altaf Bukhari.



The campaign in the four districts was by and large peaceful but militants hurled a grenade at a police station in Anantnag town on Thursday, resulting in injuries to three policemen.

For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Yogi Govt transfers 43 IPS officers