Narayan Rane loses, Chhagan Bhujbal retains his seat

Narayan Rane loses, Chhagan Bhujbal retains his seat

By: || Updated: 19 Oct 2014 06:12 AM
Mumbai: In a setback for the Congress, senior party leader Narayan Rane was defeated by Shiv Sena's Vaibhav Naik from Kudal Assembly seat in coastal Maharashtra.



Defeating Rane by about 9,000 votes, Naik emerged as a 'giant killer' in the polls. Reacting to his victory, Naik said the win was a tribute to late Sena leader Bal Thackeray.


"The verdict is people's anger against Rane's terror in the district. Hence, they decided to ensure victory of an ordinary worker like me," he said.


Former state PWD minister Chhagan Bhujbal of NCP retained his Yeola Assembly seat, winning it by a handsome margin of 46,442 votes.


Bhujbal defeated his nearest rival Sambhaji Pawar of Shiv Sena, scoring a hat-trick in the process. He lost to his main rival, Shiv Sena's Vaibhav Naik by over 10,000 votes.

For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story 39 Indians abducted by ISIS in Iraq are dead, confirms Sushma Swaraj