MIM stuns with three victories in Maharashtra

MIM stuns with three victories in Maharashtra

By: || Updated: 19 Oct 2014 09:17 AM
Mumbai: The Hyderabad-based Majli-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) Sunday notched three stunning victories in the Maharashtra assembly polls and was leading in a fourth constituency.


Bagging 25,314 votes, MIM's Warish Yusuf Pathan won from Byculla in Mumbai, trouncing BJP strongman Madhukar G. Chavan and Akhil Bharatiya Sena's Geeta Gawli.

MIM's Imtiyaz Jalik was elected from Aurangabad Central, defeating his nearest Shiv Sena rival Pradeep Jaiswal by 30,000 votes, said party spokerperson Danish Reyaz.

In Aurangabad East, MIM's Abdul Gaffar Kadari defeated the Bharatiya Janata Party's Atul More by over over 15,000 votes.

In Nanded South, MIM's Moin Akhtar was leading by over 4,000 votes over his nearest BJP rival Dilip Rao.

The party, headed by Asaruddin Owaisi, fielded 24 candidates in the state.

For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Veteran actress rape: Accused's lawyer refutes charges, calls it family dispute