Congress loses all seats in Andhra bypoll

Congress loses all seats in Andhra bypoll

By: || Updated: 21 Mar 2012 03:49 AM

In a setback to Andhra Pradesh's ruling Congress, the Telangana Rashtra
Samithi (TRS) bagged four Assembly seats while the YSR Congress and an
independent won one seat each. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had won on
a seventh seat.

The by-elections to seven Assembly seats, six of them in Telangana region,
were held on Sunday.

The elections were caused by vacancies that arose due to the resignations
of two legislators of the Congress and four rebels of the TDP.

In Mahabubnagar, the election was held due to the death of one independent
legislator, who was an associate member of Congress.

For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Dalit girl burnt alive in UP village