Chhattisgarh Civic Polls: Congress rattles BJP, wins seven out of 11 seats

Chhattisgarh Civic Polls: Congress rattles BJP, wins seven out of 11 seats

By: || Updated: 31 Dec 2015 12:25 PM
Raipur: The BJP suffers a tremendous blow in Chhattisgarh civic polls, out of 11 urban bodies the party could only managed to win three.

While the Congress rattled its opposition by winning seven out of 11 seats.

Congress won all the four municipal councils which went for poll on Monday. Among six Nagar Panchayat seats the BJP and Congress both won three each.

In Bhilai Devendra Yadav of the Congress is leading and BJP's Vidyartn Bhasin is trailing. BJP had fielded its Vaishali Nagar MLA, Vidyaratan Bhasin for Mayoral post in Bhilai

The polling was held in Bhilai Municipal Corporation, apart from four municipal councils namely Jamul in Durg district, Khairagarh in Rajnandgaon, Baikunthpur and Shivpur-Charcha in Korea district.

The nagar panchayats that went for polls were Maro in Bemetara, Konta in Sukma, Bhairamgarh and Bhopalpatanam in Bijapur, Narharpur in Kanker and Premnagar in Surajpur district.

Congress had put up a good show in the civic body polls held in December 2014, winning four out of ten municipal corporations while the ruling BJP could bag four, ceding two.

The rest of two seats were won by independent candidates, including a eunuch candidate.

For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Don't know from where this rumour is doing the rounds: Raj Babbar on resignation