Campaigning for second phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh ends today

Campaigning for second phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh ends today

By: || Updated: 13 Feb 2017 11:11 AM

Image: representational

New Delhi: Campaigning for the second phase of the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections and single-phased Uttarakhand aseembly elections came to an end today. The two states will go to polls on February 15

67 constituencies spread over 11 districts including Saharanpur, Moradabad, Bijnor, Steady, Rampur, Bareilly, Kheri, Badaun, Shahjahanpur, Amroha and Pilibhit, in UP will witness polling on 15th February.

In Uttarakhand, polling will be held for 69 constituencies.

In UP, the fate of senior leaders like Azam Khan from Rampur, ex-union minister Jitin Prasad from Tihar will de decided in the second phase of polling

 About Azam Khan

Azam Khan is a member of the 16th Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh and is also a Cabinet Minister in the Government of Uttar Prades. He has been a member of the legislative assembly for eight terms from Rampur assembly constituency and is a member of the Samajwadi Party. He is a Sunni Muslim.

About Jitin Prasad

Jitin Prasada is a politician from Congress and former Minister of State for Human Resource . Prasada was representing Dhaurahra (Lok Sabha constituency) of district Lakhimpur Kheri, Uttar Pradesh in 15th Lok Sabha where he won by 184,509 votes.

17th Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly election

The 17th Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly election are being held from February 11 to March 8, 2017 in 7 phases. In 2012, the Samajwadi Party won a majority and formed government in the leadership of Akhilesh Yadav.

63 per cent turnout was recorded in the first phase of the staggered Uttar Pradesh assembly elections spanning 73 constituencies in the western part of the state, officials said.

Voting in Uttar Pradesh is being done in seven phases – February 11, 15, 19, 23, 27, March 4 and 8. The counting of votes will take place on the 11th of March.

For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Congress lying about Cambridge Analytica: Shehzad Poonawala