BJP, Congress fixed Chhattisgarh 2014 Antagarh Assembly bypoll?

BJP, Congress fixed Chhattisgarh 2014 Antagarh Assembly bypoll?

By: || Updated: 30 Dec 2015 02:50 PM
New Delhi: Both the Congress and the BJP in Chhattisgarh are under the scanner for sealing the Antagarh (ST- reserved) bypoll seat in Kanker district which voted on September 13, 2014.


An audio tape released by newspaper Indian Express reveals several phone conversations purportedly between former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi, his son Amit Jogi and Chief Minister Raman Singh’s son-in-law Puneet Gupta; between Congress candidate Manturam Pawar (who withdrew) and former Jogi loyalist Firoz Siddiqui; a third between Pawar, who is now with the BJP, and Siddiqui; between Siddiqui and another Jogi loyalist Ameen Memon; and between Amit Jogi and Siddiqui.


Tribal leader Manturam Pawar, then a Jogi loyalist, was offered money to withdraw his candidature from the Antagarh bypoll. The BJP got a walkover when the Congress candidate pulled out at the last minute.


While the deal was underway, Amit was allegedly heard saying in the audio tape: “We have to go up to seven at least…he is expecting ten. We will bring him down, lekin ekdum se uska itna kam mat kar do ki phir wo bhaag hi jaaye (but don’t reduce his share to such an extent that he runs away)”.


The daily has claimed that both Pawar and Siddiqui confirmed their voices on the tape. But Amit Jogi, Ajit Jogi and Gupta denied any involvement.

The Congress party has taken the matter seriously and issued a show cause notice to Ajit Jogi.

Ajit Jogi filed a case against the publication at Bilaspur Cyber Cell Branch.


Meanwhile, Congress workers held a protest in Raipur against the ruling BJP government and CM Raman Singh over the issue. (Pics Below)


raypur protest 1 raypur protest 2 raypur protest 3



For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story J&K: On Indian soil, female separatist leader celebrates Pakistan Day; says we all are Pakistani