Azam takes oath as Cabinet minister in UP

Azam takes oath as Cabinet minister in UP

By: || Updated: 18 Mar 2012 03:56 AM

Samajwadi Party leader Mohammad Azam Khan on Sunday took oath as a Cabinet
minister in Uttar Pradesh. This is the second time he was sworn-in
following the fiasco on March 15 when he had not taken the pledge of
secrecy and office as per the Constitutional procedures along with
Akhilesh Yadav.

Khan was administered oath by governor BL Joshi at a function at Raj
Bhawan in the presence of senior party leaders including chief minister
Akhilesh Yadav.

Four ministers of state Rajendra Singh Rana, Arvind Singh Gope, Bhagwat
Sharan Gangwar and Aruna Kori were also elevated with independent charge.

They were administered oath as minister of state (independent charge) by
the governor.

On March 15, nineteen Cabinet ministers and 28 Ministers of state, besides
chief minister Akhilesh Yadav, took oath in a grand function held at La
Martinere College ground.

Later, it was found that Khan had not taken the pledge of secrecy and
office as per the Constitutional procedures.

A Public Interest Litigation (PIL) was filed in the Allahabad High Court
claiming that Khan did not follow the procedures enshrined in Form V of
the Third Schedule of the Constitution. The PIL was filed by a local
lawyer, Yodendra Kumar Misra.

The petitioner had alleged that in absence of oath of office as required,
no person can perform the functions as a minister and he is to be deemed a
usurper of the office.

The petitioner had prayed that the court may issue a writ in the nature of
quo warranto against Khan as he cannot function as a minister of the

Taking note of the anomaly, the political leadership checked out the video
recordings of the ceremony to find out the position after which it was
decided that Khan should take the oath of office and secrecy again.

For INDIA News Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and for news updates download our News App.

First Published:
Next Story Siddaramaiah govt is going to sink after election results: Amit Shah